Little Women Movie Review – June Allyson Edition!

As some of you know, I am obsessed with Louisa May Alcott’s book about family and growing up called Little Women.

If you have not read this book… you have no idea what you are missing out on, okay? It is a classic, yes. But it is not written in stuffy Shakespeare talk. It is funny and beautiful and spotlessly clean, for those of you who are strict. I read it out loud to my 13-year-old brother and he enjoyed it, so don’t let that girly title fool you! This book is for everyone.

Obviously, I wanted to see the different movie adaptions when I learned that they existed and I have reviewed my favorite-so-far, made in 1994 and starring Winona Ryder.

But I have also seen one other popular version of this story, starring June Allyson.

Let me just get something off my chest right from the start – I hated it.

Related image

That is not Jo.

And I guess that sums up my entire issue with this book… the characters. The characters are all wrong!

Jo acts like a five-year-old! She looks like a ten-year-old and she sounds at least forty. I have grown up with this story and if anyone knows Jo, it’s me. This performance simply does not ring true.

Laurie is… for lack of a better word, old. And this ruins everything. What mother in her right mind would allow her supposedly teenage daughters to hang out with some creepy old dude? And why does he need a tutor? He looks older than Brooke!

Image result for little women 1949 laurie

Speaking of Brooke… Brooke is one character whose age seems about right and his looks are… decent, but his voice! Is he a robot? I am genuinely perplexed…

And Amy. Oh, dearie me. Amy.

What is going on with her eyebrows?

Related image

Also, where did she get all that makeup? Her eyelids are blue, her foundation is thick, she’s wearing lipstick. This is ridiculous! The Marches were poor, and Marmee was strict about clothing and accessories, and she’s only twelve!

The age-warp doesn’t end there.

In fact, the age-warp is the main issue I have with the characters. Meg and Beth are too young-looking for their roles, while Amy is far too old-looking for hers. Jo is one of those confusing individuals whose age is unknown.

Meg, who was supposed to be sixteen, seems to be only about fourteen in this version – I was completely uncomfortable with the idea of her being married and it was even worse when she had kids.

Especially since Meg doesn’t seem to change at all in appearance over the course of the story.

We start with children and should be watching them grow to adulthood and fondly cheer on our little chicks as they each go their own way and pursue careers or get married or travel the world.

This movie takes place over what feels like maybe one year? Meg, Amy, and Beth literally do not change at all. Jo changes infinitesimally. And it’s too fast! It seems all blurred together and not nearly enough time seems to have passed. These girls are supposed to grow up! Not stay children, but start behaving like adults.

Not only do they not change in appearance, none of them change. There is no character development. There is no reason to love or get behind these characters because they don’t try to become better. They don’t fail. And they don’t succeed.

And I don’t care.

Beth is actually adorable. But she’s only five, so that’s a definite issue.

Related image

This definitely serves to make her death more sad! But it’s just manipulation, because the death of a little kid is always heartbreaking.

Proffessor Bhaer is too young but at least he’s thoroughly German?He’s also a wee bit too good looking.. and clean shaven… and decidedly not poor.

Image result for little women 1949 professor bhaer

A lot of the movie follows the book word for word but just feels wrong coming out of the mouths of these forty year old actors instead of teenagers!

I am resigned to the fact that there are going to be changes to any and every movie adaptation of a book. That’s the way it goes and I try hide to take it in stride. But there  were a few changes that I did object to because they threw everything else out of proportion.

The party, for example. The party was supposed to be held at the Gardiner’s, if you care to know. But where it was held is inconsequential… as long as it is not held at Laurie’s house.

Guess who hosted it in this version?

That’s right.

Because of this change, Laurie’s whole personality is wrong. He is no longer the shy boy who meets Jo by choosing the same hiding place behind the curtains. The change of his backstory was needless and served no purpose that I could see – Laurie did not run away from school, enlist in the army, and get wounded! Absurd!

Laurie doesn’t propose to Jo at Meg’s wedding, either. And had a race down the hill for fun, not because Jo wanted to escape from an overtly passionate Laurie. That’s just plain awkward.

Jo was good at acting, not ridiculous. Furthermore, she would’ve worn pants for the plays in which she took all the males roles. It’s not terribly convincing to wear a mustache and  a skirt.

Image result for little women 1949 jo mustache

The girls never would’ve lied or hidden things from Marmee, and I resent the fact that they did in this version.

In the story of Little Women, Amy has a change of heart that partly begins after her sister dies. She sees that being selfish doesn’t make people inclined to love you more. Her transformation is completed when she falls in love with Laurie – and chooses love over money. This movie portrays an Amy who never had a change of heart at all. Everyone simply allows her to be self-centered and nasty and steal from starving children.

 

In the end, it’s not the changes.

There are always going to be changes, and you have to accept that or give up movie-watching, because almost every movie is an adaption of a book or play or comic.

My big issue is that I get the distinct feeling that they didn’t even try to be respectful of the real story, the story Louisa May Alcott wrote.

 

 

I will close with this…

…They waste every minute of the two hours.

Shout at me about which version is your favorite in the comments!

30 thoughts on “Little Women Movie Review – June Allyson Edition!”

  1. Ooh ouch that doesn’t sound good. I saw the one with Ryder and even that … they missed some of the best parts (I read your review of that too. I quite agree). I think this book is too long to make a good movie out of it. It should be a series.

    BUT UM YES IT WAS AN AWESOME BOOK.

    I mean I have a sis who doesn’t read anything with human characters and then she layed hands on an adapted version of this book and was like “THIS IS MY KIND OF BOOK”!! LOL.

    Like

    1. They did… it’s hard to capture everything, I think. Especially for hardcore fans like ourselves who have every detail from the books memorized and are on the lookout for them. :))) THEY ARE MAKING A THREE-PART SERIES OF IT AND I AM EXCITED. THE CAST LOOKS GOOD.

      Yes yes yes yes it was amazing and I love it forever and always.

      Awwwwwww, yes it totally appeals to everyone!!!!

      Like

    1. I LOVE YOUR SCREAMING but yes. Winona takes the cake… for now. (Did you know they are making another version??? Didyoudidyoudidyoudidyou????? I am excite.)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Man, and I thought I had trouble getting my characters ages down…this movie sounds so inconsistent, it’s sadly hilarious (or maybe it’s just that you bluntly said you hate it). xD

    Like

  3. This is good to know! Now I want to read the book, and watch the specific movie you recommended (but not this one, because it sounds kind of creepy and I would probably be complaining the whole time if I read the book beforehand. Which, I would obviously). 🙂 Thank you!

    Like

    1. OHMYWORD YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK. *iniate Code Blue*

      (Also. Hiiiiiiiii, Kirsten!!! *tackle hug*)

      I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK. Seriously. Don’t let me scare you with my intensity but… it is a very easy read (no lofty old-fashioned talk at all!!!) and simply delightful and like a cozy blanket or a homecooked dinner. YOU WILL LOVE IT AND THAT IS A PROMISE.

      Eeep, yes!!! After you read the book (because that is the way things ought to be done), you should watch the 1994 version. Not this one. Yuck. It’s only good for derisive snorts.

      Like

  4. I do like the 1994 version… having said that, I’ve only watched that one and this one you’ve done the blog post on (which I didn’t like…) and apparently there’s a William Shatner version…? The other versions are kind of hard to come by Down Under it seems!

    Like

    1. We are twinsies, then!!! Oooooh, is the William Shatner version the same as the black-and-white version??? I wanted to watch that one too but didn’t have time. *siiiigh* YOU LIVE IN AUSTRALIA THAT IS SO COOL.

      (No worries!!! I got what you meant!! ;)))))

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Either way I need to hunt down ALL THE VERSIONS and watch them!!! :))))

          I didn’t but I’ve heard that it’s on YouTube??? (OOOh!! Do you guys get early releases or something???)

          Like

  5. Okay, so I don’t hate this movie. It has too many fond memories attached to it. (I grew up on this one.) But I do agree with a lot of what you said, and I am totally of the opinion that they’ve not hit on a proper Little Women adaption yet. (Not so far as the one’s I’ve seen anyway.)

    (Oh and yes! Little Women is totally not a “girly” book. Boys can enjoy it, too. My brother’s are proof of that as well. :))

    Well, dear, all I can say is, if you lay claim to knowing Jo so well, then you really shouldn’t be choosing Winona Ryder as your favorite, because I grew up on this story too and if anyone knows Jo it’s me, and Winona Ryder is NOT her!! (I have a feeling this is a pointless point to bring up because how does one solve such a debate anyway? Is there a special measuring stick used to decide who knows the characters in a story best? Haha. Like I said it’s a pointless point, but I felt like bringing it up so there it is.)

    I like June Allyson as an actress so I don’t abhor her as Jo, but yeah I wouldn’t say her portrayal was spot-on by any means. (She looks like a ten-year-old though? My dear, how you do exaggerate. She clearly looks older than that!)

    Yes. Laurie is too old. Sad but true. I also find the acting in this movie–in general–to not be quite as convincing as other movies I’ve seen. Like it feels more stagey especially when compared to movies like Amazing Grace or Pride and Prejudice (1995) or other films like that.

    Mwahahah! Yes. Brooke’s voice. So stiff. They just CAN’T seem to get John Brooke or Professor Bhaer right. What is their problem? *sigh*

    Oh yes, Amy. That was not one of Elizabeth Taylor’s best roles, I have to admit. For one thing she doesn’t pull off the blonde look real well, and for another…meh, she was too silly. WHAT YOU SAID ABOUT HER STEALING FOOD FROM THE STARVING CHILDREN OH MY WORD!! I never actually thought of it that way before but THAT IS SO NOT RIGHT! Watching it as kids, that was always one of the funniest parts, but looking at it now…wow. THEY WERE THERE TO HELP THE FAMILY OUT! AMY WOULD NOT BE SITTING THERE EATING HALF THE FOOD HERSELF!!

    Meg looks fourteen? And Beth five? Seriously, Kate, this is too funny. I don’t see that at all. They are much older than that. Is it really possible to interpret ages so differently? Wow. This really throws me for a loop. ;P

    You are so right. Professor Bhaer is definitely too young and too handsome. He’s all wrong.

    “It’s not terribly convincing to wear a mustache and a skirt.” True, but in her defense it was just a rehearsal. She probably wore pants for the real thing. 😉

    Like

    1. I anticipated that it would be near and dear to some of my reader’s hearts and I did think you might like this version better because I seem to recall a few times you mentioned it in your posts in a not-unflattering manner… I am sorry for bashing something you like, dear. Sort of. ;))

      I really agree with you — there hasn’t been a perfect version yet. BUT GUESS WHAT???? I just found out that Masterpiece Theatre is making a three-part miniseries of it!!! I hope it will do it justice and from what I’ve read, they are staying pretty true to the real story… and the cast looks lovely!!! I especially like that they FINALLY got Brooke right!!!!!

      (Yay for brothers who appreciate this lovely book despite its misleading title!)

      This is indeed true… the Measuring Stick does not exist. But I WILL concede that there were a few things/moments with Ryder that were not “Jo” to me… like she WAS a wee bit too flirtatious at times and the “real Jo” would never have done that. In fact, she admits in the book that she would like to try flirting but isn’t good at it. So. Proof.

      I can’t decide HOW old she looks!!! In some ways, she looks very, very young. In others she looks very, very old. I didn’t like it. It was confusing and weird and I was befuddled. *cries*

      THANK YOU. I was creeped out the whole movie. (Rather like in the Anne movies when she is with Morgan Harris??? I guess it was socially acceptable back then but WHOA. Does she not see that he is forty and has rotten teeth???)

      Hmmm… yes. I think it was a bit stiff, but that could have been the style back then (my, how generous I am being!!)… I had less of a problem with the acting than with the casting, really.

      I KNOW. The two main love-interests are simply chronic failures. *fingers crossed for this new version although their Bhaer does NOT look promising in my opinion… at least he is the first one to have a beard like he did in the book???*

      I’m not sure what her natural hair color is but OH DEAR the blonde hair does something very odd to her complexion. Or maybe it’s just all the makeup. Whatever it is, Amy was very doll-like in this version and I was creeped out by that too. I GUESS IT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FUNNY??? I should have laughed but honestly I was just screeching. Like what??? Marmee never would have allowed that!!!

      Yes INDEED. Both of them look so appallingly young. (For Beth it was cute. For Meg… why is she getting MARRIED???)

      At least the accent was cool…

      OH. It was only a rehearsal??? Okay, I’ll accept that, if you’re sure she wore pants in the real thing. Also. Whatever she’s using as her mustache is Not Convincing.

      THANK YOU SO MUCH for the lovely comment, I enjoyed it immensely (as always)!!!!

      Like

      1. Oh no, not at all!! I wasn’t offended by your “bashing” it in the least. I bash it myself when I’m in the proper mood. I just meant that I don’t hate it and I do think fondly of it, even while I groan over how many things it got wrong. ;P

        Oh yes. I heard about that one. I’d really like to see it, though I confess I don’t have super high hopes for it. I mean…British actors for Little Women? Can that even work? I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

        You’re the best! I love how you’re able to like Winona Ryder’s portrayal and yet still see that she isn’t EXACTLY as Jo should be in every area. Just for that I give you leave to like Winona Ryder’s Jo as much as ever you like! (Isn’t that generous of me? Ha.)

        Poor Kate. It wasn’t nice of them to confuse you so. *pats you comfortingly on the back*

        MORGAN HARRIS? Oooooh. How did HE get into this??? *shivers* 😉

        You really are. Quite generous. And I agree. It was sort of the style for that time period, I think.

        Prof. Bhaer has a beard in the new movie? Hmm…that’s promising. I guess. But what he looks like really doesn’t matter (to a certain extent anyway) if he can only ACT RIGHT!!

        Her natural hair color was a really dark brown. Almost black in my opinion. Hence why the blonde didn’t go over too well.

        Well, I can’t say for certain that she wore pants in the real thing but…’hem, we’ll just assume she did. And about the mustache. Really, Kate, you’re so picky. This wasn’t some professional play. It was just four sisters putting on a show for their friends. If it had been me and my siblings the mustache would have been made out of paper. Heehee. 😉

        Thank YOU for such a lovely response. You’re so much fun!! 😀

        Like

  6. Oh dear… 😂😂😂 I’m not sure whether to laugh or cry, because I know how near and dear this story is to your heart. I haven’t actually read the book (you already know of this major failure) but it is on my 2018 TBR list. Along with The Song of Seats and Till We All Have Faces.

    This adaptation sounds like it’s very difficult to watch after having READ the book??? And it oddly reminds me of when my family and I went to see Ms. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children after my mom and I had read the book. There were so many useless switches and changes that it just COMPLETELY ruined the entire story. It was terrible. I don’t mind adaptations. I really don’t. I understand that movies can’t have near as many scenes and story arcs as books because of the time constraint, but SERIOUSLY. At least stay as true to the original story as you can, yes?????

    I MUST OBVIOUSLY READ THIS BOOK ASAP.

    Like

    1. It is quite near and dear to my heart. And while I was not freaking out like HOW DARE YOU DISRESPECT THIS STORY, I do know the story backwards and forwards (maybe better than some other people is all I’m saying) so every mistake was GLARINGLY OBVIOUS to my disbelieving eyeballs. :)))

      And yes, you need to read it as soon as you can. You will not regret.

      WHAAAAAT??? I hate when that happens. Especially when it would be SO EASY to do it right???

      Definitely!

      Like

      1. Ugh, I hate it when that happens. :((( *hugs* Perhaps we shall hold a ceremonious burning of this movie? Ah??? Ah??? *brandishes firewood hopefully*

        I SHALL READ IT!!!!! I’m not sure when, but it SHALL BE READ!!!!

        YES. Seriously, I think they’re putting people who haven’t even READ the books in charge of writing the scripts for these things. Ugh.

        Like

  7. The ’94 FOR THE WIN!! I LOVE that movie so much. It’s got a very special place in my heart. ❤

    I feel like I won't really be able to get behind any other adaptation, such is my love for the '94. 😛

    Like

Leave a comment